• My Journal

    Notes from the field

2009 Champions Trophies

0 of 5 - 0 votes
ct.jpgWomen: 11-19 July, Sydney (Sydney Olympic Park Hockey Centre, Sydney Olympic Park)
Men: 28 Nov-6 Dec, Melbourne (State Netball & Hockey Centre, Parkville)

The [[nw:Hockey Champions Trophy|Champions Trophy]] is a prestigious annual international hockey event. Unique to any other major competition, the [[nw:Hockey Champions Trophy|Champions Trophy]] comprises the top six-ranked teams in world hockey.

The Men’s and Women’s tournaments are co-ordinated as individual events. The tournament is structured in a round-robin format concluding in finals matches determined by the final ranking of the competing teams.

In 2009, the 17th Women’s [[nw:Hockey Champions Trophy|Champions Trophy]] will be held in Sydney from the 11-19 July and the 31st Men’s [[nw:Hockey Champions Trophy|Champions Trophy]] will be held in Melbourne from 28 Nov – 6 Dec. The tournaments will not only attract the world’s best hockey players, but also international delegates, guests and tourists. With no [[nw:Hockey World Cup|World Cup's]] scheduled for 2009, the [[nw:Hockey Champions Trophy|Champions Trophy]] will be the premier international hockey event for the year.

If you would like to receive regular [[nw:Hockey Champions Trophy|Champions Trophy]] updates from Hockey Australia including ticketing information, match schedules and promotion details, please e-mail Hockey Australia at

Women's Champions Trophy Teams
Argentina, Australia, China, England, Germany, Netherlands

Men's Champions Trophy Teams
Australia, England, Germany, Korea, Netherlands, Spain

Hockey Australia

Author Info
Mark Matheson
Chief Bottle Washer
Mark is the former President of the Sydney Masters Hockey Association and is a current NSW manager in the Over 40's age group. When he is not working in the hockey community, Mark runs an IT Consultancy offering IT Management and business process change services.